Monday, January 30, 2017

951. The Six School of Thoughts.....!

Satya, the Truth in Vedas is so elusive that it is difficult to comprehend at one go.  Hence for a systematic process of understanding it our Rishis formulated Darshana Shastras (Art of Knowing) expounding the six schools of Vedic Philosophy in the forms of Sutras which were called “Shadarshana.” 

Each of these schools differs from one another in terms of its perceptions, phenomena, decrees and principles. Each philosophy has developed, systematized and correlated the various parts of the Vedas in its own way. Each school has its own Sutrakarta (Author) who devoted his entire life to study and propagate that particular Vedic philosophy.

The common feature of all the six philosophies were to understand the Prapancha (External World) and its connection with Jeevatma (Individual), relationship between Paramarthika Satya (Eternal Truth), Vyavaharika Satya (Empirical Truth) and Pratibasika Satya (Illusory Truth) and finally to describe the goal of life and the means to achieve that goal.

Nyaya Darshana of Maharshi Gautama.

Maharshi Gautama establishes the fact that Paramarthika Satya which is Divinity is eternal while the Vyavaharika and Partibasika Satya are encompassed by “Maya” the illusory power and are momentary and is an aid for the creation.

Vaishesika Darshana of Maharshi Kanada.

Maharshi Kanada talked about Paramanu (Atom), he says that “Maya” is ineffectual and there is no creation or annihilation but rather an orderly and morally systematized composition and decomposition of matter. The Primordial Atom is eternal.

Sankya Darshana of Kapila Muni.

Purusha (Consciousness) and Prakriti (Matter) cause the creation. Purusha inspire Prakriti to manifest herself. Divinity is beyond Maya and it can be attained as it is the only source of Bliss.

Yoga Darshana of Patanjala Maharshi.

Yoga is derived from the Sanskrit root yug, which means “TO UNITE”. This school gives various methods to merge the Jeevatma (Individual Consciousness) with Paramatma (Absolute Consciousness). 

Mimamsa Darshana of Jaimini Muni.

Mimamsa is to analyze and understand thoroughly. This darshana provides a practical methodology for the utilization of the Dharma (righteousness)   for the satisfaction of the urges for Artha (Wealth) and fulfil the Kama (Desires). It is based more on Rituals.

Vedanta Darshana of Vedavyasa Deva.

This is Veda + Antha (Epilogue of Veda) revealing the secret that God is Absolute Divinity and Absolute Bliss. He is Gracious and by just remembering Him a seeker experience His Absolute Blissfulness forever. 

These six philosophies are paired in groups of two based on their close related thoughts. Naya and Vaisheshika make one pair, Sankya and Yoga are related and finally Mimamsa and Vedanta are allied to each other. Since the Sutrakartas of the six Darshanas placed their argument from the same source, the Vedas, all the six philosophies share many basic principles.
Like for example:

Jeevatma (Individual) is spiritual being with the nature of Paramanada (Eternal Bliss).

Jeevatma (Individual) acquires Stula Deha (Gross Body) according to the Law of Karma.

Jeevatma (Individual) experiences the duality of good and bad because of the contact with matter which is worldly.

Jeevatma (Individual) following any one of the six Darshanas, begets the same escalation as the one following the other five. Since the sadhana is all about basic practices of purification and self-control.

Ultimate goal of each philosophy is to end of suffering and experience the Eternal Bliss.

No comments:

Post a Comment